## Los Angeles Daily News



63°F-Ö- Friday, December 9th 2022



Crime **Investigative Reporting Politics Environment Business** Housing

TRENDING: LA Council vs. Kevin de León LAFD cadet hero

Fentanyl on the streets LA's Yellow Car trolleys

Middle Class Tax Refund debit card 💳

Jobs

**NEWS • News** 

## Election 2022: LA Mayor-elect Bass announces transition advisory team

Headed by famed civil and labor rights leader Dolores Huerta as co-chair, the group will provide advice and counsel to Bass up through her first 100 days in office











Los Angeles Mayor-elect Karen Bass (Photo by Keith Birmingham, Pasadena Star-News/ SCNG)

By LINH TAT | Itat@scng.com |

PUBLISHED: December 6, 2022 at 7:06 p.m. | UPDATED: December 7, 2022 at 8:15 a.m.

Los Angeles Mayor-elect Karen Bass on Tuesday, Dec. 6, announced the individuals serving on her transition advisory team, which will be headed up by five honorary co-chairs, including famed labor and civil rights leader Dolores Huerta.

Rounding out the list of co-chairs are Monica Lozano, president of College Futures Foundation and the former publisher and CEO of La Opinión; Dominic Ng, CEO of East West Bank; Steve Soboroff, a civic and business leader; and Yvonne Wheeler, president of the Los Angeles County Federation of Labor.

Other transition team members include former L.A. Mayor Antonio Villaraigosa and the city's former controller, Wendy Greuel, who also was the first female candidate to make it to a mayoral runoff in L.A. in 2013.

Bass is the first woman elected to the mayor's office in L.A.

Transition team members, which number 103 to date, including the co-chairs, come from both the public and private sectors. They will provide advice and counsel to Bass between now and her first 100 days in office. The people she's tapped include individuals who work in the business, education and nonprofit worlds, as well as civic and religious leaders.

"The team is composed of a broad cross-section of Los Angeles leaders and experts who will also help lay the foundation for long-term success by identifying the best possible talent for positions in the Mayor's Office, City departments and on the City's 49 Boards and Commissions," the Office of the Mayor-elect said in a news release.

Below is a list of individuals named to her transition team. More names could be added in the future.

- Fred Ali
- Raul A. Anaya
- Martha Arevalo
- Danny Bakewell, Sr.
- Keith Black
- Chancellor Gene Block
- Kafi Blumenfield
- · Pastor "J" Edgar Boyd
- Senator Steven Bradford
- Rosa Bravo
- Charisse Bremond Weaver
- Maria Brenes
- Mara Cohen
- Gus Corona
- Governor Gray Davis (ret.)
- Arnulfo De La Cruz
- Castulo de la Rocha
- Senator Maria Elena Durazo
- Sarah Dusseault
- Cecilia V. Estolano
- · Rabbi Noah Farkas
- · Kathay Feng
- Kathy Finn
- Veronica Flores
- President Carol Folt
- Larry Frank
- Leslie Gilbert-Lurie
- Stephanie Graves
- David Green
- Controller Wendy Greuel (ret.)
- Linda Griego
- Ari Gutierrez Arambula
- Gene Hale
- Chris Hannan
- Suzi Hoffman-Kipp
- David Huerta

- Kim Hunter
- Nike Irvin
- Matthew Johnson
- Evan Kaizer
- Maral V. Karaccusian
- Sam Kbushyan
- Va Lecia Adams Kellum
- John Kim
- Stephanie Klasky-Gamer
- Stewart Kwoh
- Deborah La Franchi
- Michael Lawson
- Tim Leiweke
- · Mary Leslie
- Jennifer Lin
- Kerman Maddox
- Leonard Manoukian
- Areva Martin
- Martha Matsuoka
- Cynthia McClain-Hill
- Katie McGrath
- · Joseph Tomás McKellar
- Gloria Medina
- Diane Middleton
- Assemblymember Cindy Montañez (ret.)
- Nicole Mutchnik
- David Nevins
- Assembly Speaker Fabian Nuñez (ret.)
- · Simon Pang
- Jonathan Parfrey
- Cookie Parker
- Manuel Pastor
- Assembly Speaker John A. Pérez (ret.)
- · Amy Perkins
- Kevin Pickett
- Senator Richard Polanco (ret.)
- Sergio Rascon
- Alberto Retana
- Susana Reyes
- Constance Rice
- · Congresswoman Lucille Roybal-Allard
- Diane Robertson
- Chancellor Francisco C. Rodriguez
- Pete Rodriguez
- Elmer Roldan
- Ali Sahabi

- Angelica Salas
- Bamby Salcedo
- Maria Salinas
- Miguel Santana
- Kenneth Sim
- Michele Siqueiros
- Raphael Sonenshein
- Alexandra C. Suh
- Gene Sykes
- Veronica Terriquez
- Mayor Michael Tubbs (ret.)
- Catherine Unger
- Jennifer Valdivia
- Jon Vein
- Mayor Antonio Villaraigosa (ret.)
- Kent Wong