# **BEFORE COLUMBUS FOUNDATION**

The Raymond House • 655 -13th Street • Suite 302 • Oakland, California 94612 www.beforecolumbusfoundation.com



August 19, 2019

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

Contact: Justin Desmangles, 916-425-7916

The Before Columbus Foundation announces the Winners of the Fortieth Annual AMERICAN BOOK AWARDS Ceremonies, November 1, 2019, 1:00–4:00 p.m.

Oakland, CA—The Before Columbus Foundation announces the Winners of the Fortieth Annual AMERICAN BOOK AWARDS. The 2019 American Book Award winners will be formally recognized on Friday, November 1, 2019, from 1:00-4:00 p.m. at the Koret Auditorium, San Francisco Public Library, 100 Larkin St., San Francisco, CA. This event is open to the public.

The American Book Awards were created to provide recognition for outstanding literary achievement from the entire spectrum of America's diverse literary community. The purpose of the awards is to recognize literary excellence without limitations or restrictions. There are no categories, no nominees, and therefore no losers. The award winners range from well-known and established writers to under-recognized authors and first works. There are no quotas for diversity, the winners list simply reflects it as a natural process. The Before Columbus Foundation views American culture as inclusive and has always considered the term "multicultural" to be not a description of various categories, groups, or "special interests," but rather as the definition of all of American literature. The Awards are not bestowed by an industry organization, but rather are a writers' award given by other writers.

### The 2019 American Book Award Winners are:

Frank Abe, Greg Robinson, and Floyd Cheung (editors)

John Okada: The Life & Rediscovered Work of the Author of No-No Boy

(University of Washington Press)

May-lee Chai

Useful Phrases for Immigrants: Stories (Blair)

(continued)

#### Louise DeSalvo

The House of Early Sorrows: A Memoir in Essays (Fordham University Press)

#### **Heid E. Erdrich** (editor)

New Poets of Native Nations (Graywolf Press)

## Ángel García

*Teeth Never Sleep: Poems* (University of Arkansas Press)

## **Tommy Orange**

There There: A Novel (Knopf)

## Halifu Osumare

Dancing in Blackness: A Memoir (University Press of Florida)

## **Christopher Patton**

Unlikeness Is Us: Fourteen from the Exeter Book (Gaspereau Press)

#### **Mark Sarvas**

*Memento Park: A Novel* (Farrar, Straus and Giroux)

#### Jeffrey C. Stewart

The New Negro: The Life of Alain Locke (Oxford University Press)

## William T. Vollmann

Carbon Ideologies: Volume I, No Immediate Danger, Volume II, No Good Alternative (Viking)

#### **G.** Willow Wilson (author), Nico Leon (illustrator)

Ms. Marvel Vol. 9: Teenage Wasteland (Marvel)

Lifetime Achievement Award:
Nathan Hare

Editor/Publisher Award:

**UCLA Chicano Studies Research Center** 

Oral Literature Award: **Moor Mother (Camae Ayewa)**