

# Announcing the 2019 Awards for Distinction Recipients

posted by CAA — Jan 17, 2019

Honorees This Year Include Howardena Pindell, Ursula Von Rydingsvard, Anna C. Chave, Senga Nengudi, Nancy S. Steinhardt, Edward Sullivan, Molly Nesbit, And Many Other Scholars, Artists, Authors, And Teachers

CAA Annual Conference, New York City, February 13-16, 2019

CAA is pleased to announce the recipients and finalists of the 2019 Awards for Distinction. Awardees this year were chosen from a pool of scholars, artists, teachers, and authors who are constantly pushing our understanding of the visual arts. The CAA Awards for Distinction are presented during Convocation at the CAA Annual Conference on Wednesday, February 13 at 6:00 PM at the New York Hilton Midtown. The CAA Annual Conference runs from February 13-16, 2019.



Howardena Pindell. Courtesy the artist and Garth Greenan Gallery.

Among the winners this year is **Howardena Pindell**, recipient of the **2019 Distinguished Artist Award for Lifetime Achievement**. Pindell studied painting at Boston University and received her MFA from Yale University. Since 1979, she has been a professor of painting and conceptual drawing at SUNY Stony Brook University. Pindell is the recipient of a Guggenheim Fellowship, two National Endowment for the Arts grants, a Joan Mitchell Foundation grant, and a Studio Museum in Harlem Artist Award. In 1990, CAA awarded her the Most Distinguished Body of Work or Performance Award. Pindell's work is in the

permanent collection of the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Museum of Modern Art, the Whitney Museum of American Art, the Yale University Art Gallery, the Fogg Museum at Harvard University, and the Rhode Island School of Design Museum, among many others.



Ursula von Rydingsvard. Photo: Zack Garlitos

**Ursula von Rydingsvard** is the winner of the **2019 Artist Award for Distinguished Body of Work**. Von Rydingsvard is best known for her unmistakable towering sculptures with mountainous topographic surfaces created from carved cedar wood. She has also explored other mediums in her work, such as bronze, paper, and resin. Over an artistic career spanning more than forty years, Von Rydingsvard's work has been in solo exhibitions at Galerie Lelong, SCAD Museum of Art, the Philadelphia Museum of Art, and Dieu Donné. Her work has been included in numerous group exhibitions and is in the permanent collections of more than thirty museums. She is the recipient of a Lifetime Achievement Award from the International Sculpture Center, the Skowhegan Medal for Sculpture, a Joan Mitchell Foundation grant, and an Academy Award in Art from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, among other awards and recognitions. A major exhibition of her work, *Ursula von Rydingsvard: The Contour of Feeling*, was presented at the Fabric Workshop and Museum in Philadelphia (April 27 – August 26, 2018) and will travel to the National Museum of Women in the Arts in March 2019.

The **Award for Excellence in Diversity** recognizes the work of an individual or organization in the visual arts whose commitment to inclusion in scholarship or practice stands out as groundbreaking and unifying. The winner of the **Award for Excellence in Diversity for 2019** is the **Chicano Studies Research Center at UCLA**. The work of the center entails five distinct areas: a library, an academic press, collaborative research projects, public programs and community partnerships, and a grant and fellowship program.

Each year, CAA awards two **Distinguished Feminist Awards**, one to a visual artist and one to a scholar. The two winners for 2019 are **Senga Nengudi** for visual artist, and **Anna C. Chave** for scholar.

### The full list of 2019 CAA Awards for Distinction Recipients

# **Artist Award For Distinguished Body Of Work**

Ursula Von Rydingsvard

# **Distinguished Artist Award For Lifetime Achievement**

Howardena Pindell

# **Distinguished Teaching Of Art Award**

Susanne Slavick

# **Distinguished Feminist Award—Visual Artist**

Senga Nengudi

# Distinguished Feminist Award—Scholar

Anna C. Chave

# **Distinguished Teaching Of Art History Award**

Nancy S. Steinhardt

**Edward Sullivan** 

# Distinguished Lifetime Achievement Award For Writing On Art

Molly Nesbit

# **Award For Excellence In Diversity**

Chicano Studies Research Center (Csrc)

# **Charles Rufus Morey Book Award**

Zeynep Çelik Alexander Kinaesthetic Knowing: Aesthetics, Epistemology, Modern Design University Of Chicago Press, 2017

#### **Finalists**

Olga Bush

Reframing The Alhambra: Architecture, Poetry, Textiles And Court Ceremonial

Edinburgh University Press, 2018

Linda Kim

Race Experts: Sculpture, Anthropology, And The American Public In Malvina

Hoffman's Races Of Mankind

University Of Nebraska Press, 2018

Carolyn Yerkes

Drawing After Architecture

Princeton University Press, 2017

#### Alfred H. Barr Jr. Award

Wendy Kaplan

Design In California And Mexico 1915-1985: Found In Translation

Los Angeles County Museum Of Art, 2017

#### **Finalists**

Jeffrey Spier And Timothy Potts

Beyond The Nile: Egypt And The Classical World

J. Paul Getty Trust, 2018

Christophe Cherix

Adrian Piper: A Synthesis Of Intuitions 1965–2016

Museum Of Modern Art, 2018

Naoko Takahatake And Jonathan Bober

The Chiaroscuro Woodcut In Renaissance Italy

Los Angeles County Museum Of Art, 2018

Cecilia Fajardo-Hill, Andrea Giunta, And Rodrigo Alonso

Radical Women: Latin American Art, 1960-1985

Hammer Museum, University Of California, 2017

# Alfred H. Barr Jr. Award For Smaller Museums, Libraries, Collections, And Exhibitions

Andrew C. Weislogel And Andaleeb Badiee Banta

Lines Of Inquiry: Learning From Rembrandt's Etchings

Herbert F. Johnson Museum Of Art, Cornell University, 2017

#### **Finalists**

Patrick A. Polk, Roberto Conduru, Sabrina Gledhill, And Randal Johnson

Axé Bahia: The Power Of Art In An Afro-Brazilian Metropolis

Fowler Museum At Ucla, 2018

Antonio Sergio Bessa And Jessamyn Fiore

Gordon Matta-Clark: Anarchitect

Bronx Museum Of Art, 2017

Mark Sloan

Fahamu Pecou: Visible Man

Halsey Institute Of Contemporary Art, 2016

#### Frank Jewett Mather Award For Art Criticism

Julia Bryan-Wilson

Fray: Art + Textile Politics

University Of Chicago Press, 2017

Rebecca M. Schreiber

The Undocumented Everyday: Migrant Lives And The Politics Of Visibility

University Of Minnesota Press, 2018

#### Art Journal Award

Mara Polgovsky Ezcurra

"Beyond Evil: Politics, Ethics, And Religion In Léon Ferrari's Illustrated Nunca Más"

Art Journal, Fall 2018

# **Arthur Kingsley Porter Prize**

Nathan T. Arrington

"Touch And Remembrance In Greek Funerary Art"

The Art Bulletin, September 2018

# Caa/Aic Award For Distinction In Scholarship And Conservation

Karl S. Buchberg

Jodi Hauptman

Learn About The Juries That Select The Recipients Of The Caa Awards For Distinction.

#### **Contacts**

Nick Obourn, Director of Communications, Marketing, and Membership nobourn@collegeart.org, 212-392-4401

Joelle Te Paske, Media and Content Manager jtepaske@collegeart.org, 212-392-4426